The Homeplace Saga, a series of books written by William Leverne Smith.

Pin It

The Homeplace Saga, a series of books written by William Leverne Smith.

Some of you may already know Bill form Squidoo, HubPages or maybe you already follow his blog.

Integrating his deep passion for genealogy study and family history into the Homeplace Saga series of books, he has created this fictional community and brings the characters to life.

Back to the HomeplaceBack to the Homeplace

The book begins in February of 1987, just after Mildred Bevins has passed away. The funeral and the will of Frank and Mildred Bevins bring all four children and their families back to the family farm, The Homeplace.

The farm is located in Oak Springs Missouri in the Ozark Mountains. Bart Bevins is especially concerned about the terms of the will, as he is the only one who stayed in Oak Springs to run the farm.

You will meet and come to know each member of the Bevins family. Learn about their different backgrounds, their family secrets, and see who, and how they struggle to hold onto the legacy, while dealing with their own family problems.

For me this book was a wonderful read, as I have a big family myself. Oak Springs and the characters were so real to me; it was like I lived there and knew all of them.

Muder by the Homeplace

Murder by the Homeplace

This is a short story that begins one week after the end of “Back to the Homeplace” In this book you will meet young Penny Nixon, a reporter for the Oak Springs newspaper, Penny is also a freelance writer.

I should mention that the newspaper editor and owner is her dad Dick Nixon

A murder takes place on the Bevins property; Penny jumps into action and begins a series of interviews as she follows the trail of the murder.

You must read this one to find out who gets murdered and how Penny helps solve the crime.

The Homeplace RevisitedRevisited

The family saga continues now in 1996 nine years later.

Learn how the grandchildren of Frank and Mildred Bevins carry on the family legacy. See how Oak Springs has thrived and continues to be a small community of family and friends.

Christmas at the HomeplaceChristmas at the Homeplace

Continued in 1996 Karen (Bevins) Winslow the oldest daughter of Frank and Mildred is expecting all of her children home in Oak Springs for Christmas. Will they all make it? Find out along with some other surprises in Christmas at the HomePlace.

The Homeplace Saga continues, this one was special to me, as I finished reading it on Christmas Eve.

A quote from the author William Leverne Smith:

“May everyone have a homeplace, if only in your mind.”

You can follow Bill’s blog here for updates on The HomePlace Saga



 Read reviews or order these fine books at Amazon




I like to write about things that I know about. My passion for a good cigar, our family recipes, television, movie reviews, travel, and product reviews. The products I review are goods that I own and have used. I’m a Industrial Engineer working in the automotive business. When I’m not working or writing I spend as much time with my beautiful grandchildren as I can, Bobby, Tyler, and Giada. Thanks for stopping by and I hope you enjoy 🙂

You might also like:

Author: Jackie Jackson

Share This Post On


  1. This looks like an interesting series. It’s my favorite thing to start a series and follow the characters through several different stories. These seem like interesting characters in an interesting place. Thanks for the recommendation!

    Post a Reply
    • Hi Monica, It is a very interesting series, I enjoy following the author’s blog updates. Thanks so much for stopping by. Have a wonderful week 🙂

      Post a Reply

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *